home     contact


Yemen Flag Thumbnail

Yemen (Arabic: AL-Yaman), officially the Republic of Yemen (Arabic: al-Jumhuuriyya al-Yamaniyya) is a Middle Eastern country located on the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia.

Yemen is the world's 49th-largest country (after France). It is comparable in size to Thailand, and somewhat larger than the U.S. state of California. Yemen is found at 15 N 48 E.

Yemen has a population of about 20 million people.

Yemen is bordered by Saudi Arabia to the North, the Red Sea to the West, the Arabian Sea and Gulf of Aden to the South, and Oman to the east.

Yemen's territory includes over 200 islands, the largest of which is Socotra, about 415 kilometres (260 miles) to the south of Yemen, off the coast of Somalia.

Yemen is the only republic on the Arabian penisula.

Yemen is one of the oldest centers of civilization in the world.

Between the ninth century BC and the sixth century AD, the Yemen was part of the Sabaean, Awsanian, Minaean, Qatabanian, Hadhramawtian, Himyarite, and some other kingdoms, which controlled the lucrative spice trade.

Yemen was known to the Ancient Romans as Arabia Felix ("Happy Arabia") because of the riches its trade generated. Augustus Caesar attempted to annex it, but the expedition failed. The Ethiopian Kingdom of Aksum annexed Yemen by around 520, and it was subsequently taken by the Sassanids Persians around 570.

Yemen industries include: crude oil production and petroleum refining; small-scale production of cotton textiles and leather goods; food processing; handicrafts; small aluminum products factory; cement; commercial ship repair.

Yemen agricultural products include: grain, fruits, vegetables, pulses, qat, coffee, cotton; dairy products, livestock (sheep, goats, cattle, camels), poultry; fish

Zabid was the capital of Yemen from the 13th to the 15th century.